Los Angeles’ Dear Boy have released a new holiday single entitled “Cold Spell.” The band makes bitter-sweet alternative rock with roots in both post-punk and 90‘s British guitar pop. The foursome is comprised of Ben Grey (vocals and guitar), Keith Cooper (drums), Austin Hayman (guitar) and Nils Bue (bass).

The band just played a hometown show on December 12 at The Troubadour alongside The Shelters. The gig came in support of their sophomore EP, Parts Of A Flower, out now on Easy Hell. The EP includes both “Alluria” and “Local Roses” and was produced by Doug Boehm (Girls). 

Dear Boy

Dear Boy has an estimable history. Their debut EP, which dropped in September 2013, was tracked in Vauxhall, London by Chad Bamford (Spiritualized) and mixed by Michael Patterson (Trent Reznor, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club). Propelled by the single “Oh So Quiet,” that record brought the band considerable local, west-coast renown. They sold out The Troubadour and The Bootleg Theater, did SXSW trips in 2014 and 2015, and embarked on a national tour supporting Kitten.

Dear Boy Live

In August, 2014 the band released “Hesitation Waltz,” a single produced by Boehm and mixed by Gareth Jones (Depeche Mode, Wire, Merchandise). Recorded in part at the legendary Sunset Sound Studios in Hollywood, the song rehearses the difficulty of estranged individuals reconnecting. As the band suggests, “before every fall, there is a moment that you take for granted. This song lives in that moment.” 2014 saw Dear Boy performing with Cloud Nothings, X Ambassadors, Meg Myers, INVSN, and Night Terrors of 1927.

Dear Boy Cold Spell

September 11th, 2015 brought the release of the band’s first international 7″ via Easy Hell / Manimal Vinyl, with “Hesitation Waltz” sharing the disc with Dear Boy’s previously unreleased take on “The Ghost in You” by The Psychedelic Furs, and the band spent the rest of the year supporting Peter Murphy, The Maccabees, The Airborne Toxic Event, as well as spending a few weeks with on the road with The Dears.

We feature “Cold Spell,” “Alluria,” and “Cold Roses” below. Dear Boy’s Parts Of A Flower EP is out now. Enjoy.